Sewing and sandwich bags

Today has been quite an exciting ReJanimate day! We started a project which will hopefully be finished tomorrow, and then I went to tackle the spare room again.  This really is a job and a half, as in order to do anything I need to do other things first, so at the moment the whole room looks worse than when I began. However, at the beginning the room was superficially tidy but in chaos underneath; now I am restoring order at the bottom but it leads to transitional mess on top!

Today I tackled what was actually a big job – my sewing and yarn supplies stash.  Any crafting fan will know that these things just multiply of their own accord – you start off with one ball of double knit and a crochet hook and end up with enough aran to knit a ships’ worth of jumpers, half a dozen balls of baby cashmerino and some pretty but unusable stitch markers you can never throw away.

I had an ottoman full of fabric – skirts with bust zips, old cushions covers and the like that I “might make into something one day” and assorted drawers of wool and needles and god knows what.  So I did a proper cull of the fabric and kept only the most promising bits (I do have a good idea for them, I promise!) and then used a high tech method to organise my knitting stuff.

Bags.  Revolutionary, I know. Who would have thought of using a bag to keep things in? You can also use them to carry your shopping home, fact fans!  I use big clear sandwich bags – one for each project-in-progress (so much nicer than ‘unfinished’, don’t you think?) and one for each lot of wool.  Add to that a little plastic box from Poundland for hooks, scissors (I’ve found five pairs in total sincee I started rejanimating!) and it all now fits into the Ottoman nicely.  Ahhh!

image

January 19th: reJanimated sewing and knitting stuff

  

One thought on “Sewing and sandwich bags

Leave a Reply

