A simple idea for a simple day

First day back at work after Christmas – luckily a low-key INSET day so a chance to get us all back into the old routines without too much stress.  And a chance to reJanimate my classroom a little.  I say a little because, unlike my house, my classroom is actually pretty tidy and well-organised!  Drawers are labelled, papers kept together neatly and I can lay my hands on, not one, but upwards of a dozen pairs of scissors any time I like.

 I know.

 It cray-cray.

Anyway.  So I went for the absolute simplest form of reJanimation – digging something out and using it again.  In a dark, dark building, up some dark, dark stairs, in a dark, dark classroom (bear with me, this is going somewhere), in a dark, dark cupboard, in a dark, dark box…were some books.  And papers and stuff.  Sorry, that was anti-climactic.

These are the books and papers and stuff I stored when I went on maternity leave.  There’s good stuff in there, too, which is why I didn’t just chuck it all, but it’s no good to anyone in a dark, dark cupboard [that’s enough: Ed] so I went up there today and liberated some books for my bookshelf, a veritable sheaf of line guides and a load of resources that will come in very handy this year and that I would obviously just have remade if I hadn’t been bothered to go up there.

Then I spent a pleasant few minutes reorganising my drawer and desk tidies.  Ahh.  Let’s just look at them for a moment.  Take some time out and enjoy them.  Check out the way those glue sticks are lined up, the little box crenellated with paper clips.  Don’t call me sad.

ImageImage

January 7th: reJanimated my classroom.

Leave a Reply

