That’s enough!

I was off work poorly today so had the chance to potter gently around the house in daylight (always a novelty), albeit with a toddler at my heels the whole time!  Was very satisfying not to walk around seeing millions of undone jobs, I must say.  One thing I did get done was to sort out the ‘floordrobe’ in our bedroom which means we can now see the carpet in there! 

In the afternoon, after our naps, the toddler and I were going stir-crazy so I went for a walk round the shops (this is a distinctly undemanding activity in my town in case you’re wondering how I could feel up to such a thing – Westfield it is not).  We had a fun walk there, as we saw a digger, and then I cleaned out a charity shop which had priced all its children’s books at 20p each – 6 books for J, including a Bob the Builder book with all little character magnets, and the same for my book cupboard at school. (The same number, that is, not the same books,  although I just know  a Bob book would be literally fought over by my year 9 and I am not exaggerating.)

The interesting thing about the shops was that I didn’t want to buy anything for myself (apart from some medicinal Percy Pigs).  Having such a clear picture of what’s already in the house makes me realise how little I need and it takes the fun out of browsing.  I do make an exception for picture books as I honestly feel you can’t have too many books for children but I don’t even feel tempted to buy any more toys or clothes for J.  We really do have enough!

Now there’s a funny feeling, huh.

Leave a Reply

