A fresh coat

Looking at the weather forecast for this week, I could see that it’s going to turn from freezing to practically spring-like in the space of a few days.  As has already been discussed in this blog,  my winter coat is seriously warm, so I started thinking about alternatives.  When I did under the stairs, I rediscovered a couple of old coats – one of them a purple smart coat I had a few years ago.  I was actually about to sling it on the ‘throw it out’ pile as I thought it looked musty and faded, but the ever present spirit of ReJanimate guided my hand and I found myself compelled to put it in the washing machine instead.

It came out great, so off I strode to my sewing box (which should by now be given a supporting role in this blog – who knew it would be such a faithful companion along this road?) to sew on the many missing buttons (which is when I remembered why I stopped wearing it in the first place), give it a good press and snip off a few pulled threads.  It’s really as good as new and I feel really happy to have a ‘new’ coat! 

image

Once again, one task has led to another one, but in a happy way.

January 27th: reJanimated an old winter coat.

Leave a Reply

